When You Write, Edit the Adjectives and Pound the Nouns

Memorable work needs less description than you think

Todd Brison
3 min readFeb 15, 2021
Imaged purchased by the author via iStock

I noticed something odd last week while watching Father of The Bride with Kate. It wasn’t the fact that some entrepreneur shoemaker could afford a million-dollar house in California. I’d noticed that bizarre write-in before.

No, this oddity was hidden in the film’s dialogue.

Look at these lines from George and Annie’s pre-wedding conversation. George (the dad) gets out of bed because he hears Annie (the future bride) dribbling a basketball in the middle of the night.

Annie: Did I wake you?

George: No, no. I was up. So, what are you doing?

Annie: I couldn’t sleep. I just kept thinking about how this was my last night in my bed, in my house…It was so strange, packing up my room. You know how you’ve always trained me never to throw anything away? So, like, I have all these ratty stuffed animals and yearbooks, my old retainer… all my old magic tricks. I’ve actually packed it all. I mean, I know I can’t stay. But it’s like…I don’t want to leave.

George: Well, that’s the thing about life, is, uh… the surprises. The little things that sneak up on you and grab hold of you.

[SNOW BEGINS TO FALL]

--

--