Why Creative People Constantly Feel Pulled in 2 Different Directions

Behind the mysterious forces that tug at all artists

Todd Brison
5 min readMay 13, 2021
Image purchased by the author via iStock

I’m on a quest to discover why some people get famous and others get forgotten.

Often, this work results in a furrowed brow that will probably become a deep wrinkle. One day, my hope is that all those stray ideas might weave themselves theories, theories to blogs, blogs to chapters, chapters to a book.

For now, though, trying to write about fame would be like I suddenly decided to write in Spanish. I don’t have the vocabulary to address what I care about.

Last week was different.

Last week, I came across a simple diagram that showed why artists are so… well… confused.

There a waging war between art and commerce inside the mind of every creative person. Do you take the easy paycheck for dull work, or do you stick to the road less traveled in pursuit of greater meaning? Contrary to current thought, this battle hasn’t raged since the birth of art itself. Still, it’s a fierce fight today.

This is the diagram that puts our plight in a picture:​

--

--